Circular

1997 Holiday Schedule

September 3, 1996
Circular No. 10870

To All Depository Institutions and Others Concerned in the Second Federal Reserve District:

All offices of this Bank are closed on all Saturdays and Sundays and on the following public holidays:

Holiday Date

Observed in 1997

New Year's Day (January 1) Wednesday, January 1
Martin Luther King's Birthday (third Monday in January) Monday, January 20
Washington's Birthday (third Monday in February) Monday, February 17
Memorial Day (last Monday in May) Monday, May 26
Independence Day (July 4) Friday, July 4
Labor Day (first Monday in September) Monday, September 1
Columbus Day (second Monday in October) Monday, October 13
Veterans Day (November 11) Tuesday, November 11
Thanksgiving Day (fourth Thursday in November) Thursday, November 27
Christmas Day (December 25) Thursday, December 25

If any of the above holidays falls on a Sunday, it will be observed on the following Monday; if it falls on a Saturday, it will not be observed on any other day.

William J. McDonough
President