FEDERAL RESERVE SYSTEM

Consumer Advisory Council Solicitation of Nominations for Membership

AGENCY: Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System.

ACTION: Notice

SUMMARY: The Board is inviting the public to nominate qualified individuals for appointment to its Consumer Advisory Council, whose membership represents interests of consumers, communities, and the financial services industry. New members will be selected for three-year terms that will begin in January 2004. The Board expects to announce the selection of new members by year-end 2003.

DATE: Nominations must be received by August 15, 2003. NOMINATIONS NOT RECEIVED BY AUGUST 15, MAY NOT BE CONSIDERED.

ADDRESS: Nominations, including a <u>résumé</u> for each nominee, must be received by August 15, 2003. Electronic nominations are preferred. The appropriate form can be accessed at:

http://www.federalreserve.gov/forms/cacnominationform.cfm

If electronic submission is not feasible, the nominations can be mailed (not sent by facsimile) to Sandra F. Braunstein, Senior Associate Director, Division of Consumer and Community Affairs, Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System, Washington, D.C. 20551.

FOR FURTHER INFORMATION CONTACT: Ann Bistay, Secretary of the Council, Division of Consumer and Community Affairs, (202) 452-6470, Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System, Washington, D.C. 20551.

SUPPLEMENTARY INFORMATION: The Consumer Advisory Council was established in 1976 at the direction of the Congress to advise the Federal Reserve Board on the exercise of its duties under the Consumer Credit Protection Act and on other consumer-related matters. The Council by law represents the interests both of consumers and of the financial services industry (15 USC 1691(b)). Under the Rules of Organization and Procedure of the Consumer Advisory Council (12 CFR 267.3), members serve three-year terms that are staggered to provide the Council with continuity.

New members will be selected for terms beginning January 1, 2004, to replace members whose terms expire in December 2003; the Board expects to announce its appointment of new members by year-end. Nomination letters should include:

- a résumé:
- information about past and present positions held by the nominee;
- a description of special knowledge, interests or experience related to community reinvestment, consumer protection regulations, consumer credit, or other consumer financial services;
- full name, title, organization name, organization description for both the nominee and the nominator;
- current address, telephone and fax numbers for both the nominee and the nominator; and
- positions held in community organizations, and on councils, and boards.

Individuals may nominate themselves.

The Board is interested in candidates who have familiarity with consumer financial services, community reinvestment, and consumer protection regulations, and who are willing to express their viewpoints. Candidates do not have to be experts on all levels of consumer financial services or community reinvestment, but they should possess some basic knowledge of the area. They must be able and willing to make the necessary time commitment to participate in conference calls, and prepare for and attend meetings three times a year (usually for two days, including committee meetings), held at the Board's offices in Washington, D.C. The Board pays travel expenses, lodging, and a nominal honorarium.

In making the appointments, the Board will seek to complement the background of continuing Council members in terms of affiliation and geographic representation, and to ensure the representation of women and minority groups. The Board may consider prior years' nominees and does not limit consideration to individuals nominated by the public when making its selection.

Council members whose terms end as of December 31, 2003, are:

Anthony Abbate
President and Chief Executive Officer
Interchange Bank
Saddle Brook, New Jersey

Manuel Casanova, Jr. Executive Vice President International Bank of Commerce Brownsville, Texas

Constance Chamberlin
President/CEO
Housing Opportunities Made Equal
Richmond, Virginia

Earl Jarolimek
Vice President/Corporate Compliance Officer
Community First Bankshares
Fargo, North Dakota

J. Patrick Liddy Director of Compliance Fifth Third Bancorp Cincinnati, Ohio

Oscar Marquis Attorney Hunton and Williams Park Ridge, Illinois Ronald Reiter
Supervising Deputy Attorney General
California Department of Justice
San Francisco, California

Dan Dixon

Elizabeth Renuart Staff Attorney National Consumer Law Center Boston, Massachusetts

Council members whose terms continue through 2004 and 2005 are:

Janie Barerra James Garner

President and Chief Executive Officer Senior Vice President and General Counsel

ACCION Texas

North America Consumer Finance for San Antonio, Texas

Citigroup

Baltimore, Maryland

Kenneth Bordelon
Chief Executive Officer
R. Charles Gatson
E Federal Credit Union
Vice President
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Midtown Community Development

Corporation

Susan Bredehoft Kansas City, Missouri Senior Vice President/

Compliance Risk Management Larry Hawkins
Commerce Bank, N.A. President and Chief Executive Officer

Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Unity National Bank
Houston, Texas

Robin Coffey
Vice President
James King

Harris Trust and Savings Bank President and Chief Executive Officer Chicago, Illinois Community Redevelopment Group

Cincinnati, Ohio

Group Senior Vice President

World Savings Bank, FSB

Washington District of Columbia

Public Interest

Washington, District of Columbia

Public Interest
Law Office of Rochester

Thomas FitzGibbon
Rochester, New York
Senior Vice President

MB Financial Bank, N.A.

Chicago, Illinois

Patricia McCoy

Professor of Law

Department of Economics Cambridge, Massachusetts Elsie Meeks Executive Director First Nations Oweesta Corporation Kyle, South Dakota

Mark Pinsky President and Chief Executive Officer National Community Capital Association Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

Debra Reyes President Neighborhood Lending Partners, Inc. Tampa, Florida

Benson Roberts
Vice President for Policy
Local Initiatives Support Corporation
Washington, District of Columbia

Benjamin Robinson Senior Vice President, Strategy Management Executive Bank of America Charlotte, North Carolina Agnes Bundy Scanlan Managing Director and Chief Privacy Officer FleetBoston Financial Boston, Massachusetts

Diane Thompson
Supervising Attorney
Land of Lincoln Legal Assistance
Foundation, Inc.
East St. Louis, Illinois

Hubert Van Tol Co-Director Fairness in Rural Lending Sparta, Wisconsin

Clint Walker
General Counsel/
Chief Administrative Officer
Juniper Bank
Wilmington, Delaware

Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System, June 4, 2003.

Jennifer J. Johnson (signed)

Jennifer J. Johnson

Secretary of the Board